ANSI/TIA-942 Site/Facilities Certification (DCCC)

The ANSI/TIA-942 Site/Facilities Certification (DCCC) indicates that the data center facility under scope has been physically inspected for conformity to the design criteria of the ANSI/TIA-942 standard for the respective Rating level. This physical inspection covers both an assessment of all relevant design documents as well as a physical on-site inspection for each area under the scope of the ANSI/TIA-942 standard.

The ANSI/TIA-942 Site/Facilities Certification is valid for 3 years.  By the end of year-1 and year-2, the data center should undergo a surveillance audit. Depending on potential site changes since the official certification audit, the surveillance audit could be based on self-declaration, remote validation or in very rare cases an on-site inspection. By the end of year-3, the data center has to undergo a recertification audit in order to maintain its certification. 

EPI is the world's first and so far the only official ANSI/TIA-942 CAB authorised under the official TIA-942 Accreditation Scheme from TIA to provide data center conformity audit services to the ANSI/TIA-942 standard.  EPI is also incorporated as a CB (Certification Body).

Click for brochure  |  Request for a quote


About ANSI/TIA-942

TIA-942 is the telecommunication infrastructure standard for data centres. This standard however not only cover the telecommunication part but also other important factors which lead to a robust data centre. The data centre will be reviewed for compliance in four categories:

  • Architecture (Incl. fire safety, physical security, site location etc.)
  • Electrical
  • Mechanical
  • Telecommunications

For each of the categories, the data centre will be categorized in four rating levels (Rated 1-4), as well as an overall rating level.

Rating Level**

ANSI/TIA-942 describes four rating levels in which data centers can be classified. Below are the high level descriptions of each rating level.  Detailed specifications are given in the ANSI/TIA-942 standard.

  • Rated-1: Basic Site Infrastructure
    A data centre which has single capacity components and a single, non-redundant distribution path serving the ICT equipment. It has limited protection against physical events.
  • Rated-2: Redundant Capacity Component Site Infrastructure
    A data centre which has redundant capacity components and a single, non-redundant distribution path serving the ICT equipment.  It has improved protection against physical events.
  • Rated-3: Concurrently Maintainable Site Infrastructure
    A data centre which has multiple independent distribution paths serving the ICT equipment. From a conformity point of view, it is acceptable to have one distribution path serve the ICT equipment with the second distribution path to be on standby for maintenance purposes. However, most data centres use both distribution paths on a continuous basis. The data centre is required to be concurrently maintainable meaning that each and every capacity component including elements/components which are part of the distribution path, can be removed/replaced/serviced on a planned basis without disrupting the ICT capabilities to the End-User. It has protection against most physical events.
  • Rated-4: Fault Tolerant Site Infrastructure
    A data centre which has multiple independent distribution paths serving the ICT equipment which are all active. The data centre allows concurrent maintainability and one (1) fault anywhere in the installation without causing downtime. The data centre must be capable to automatically detect a fault, automatically isolate the fault and to automatically continue operation. It has protection against almost all physical events.

Note**; The outcome of the Rating levels defined by TIA are similar to the outcome of the Uptime Tier levels i.e. both Rated-3 of TIA and Tier-III of Uptime are both defined as being a Concurrent Maintainable data centre.


• Foundation

Find a Training Schedule

EPI Data Center Framework

EPI Data Centre Operations Standard (DCOS)

EPI Data Centre Conpetence Framework

EPI Data Center Training Framework

IT Training Framework

Make enquiry
Send me updates
Copyright EPI Singapore 2020      | Privacy Policy | Terms & Conditions